Home Attractions Saint Pierre Church Avignon

Saint Pierre Church Avignon

The church Saint Pierre was built in 1358, on the site of one the first Avignon's churches. The little square around, paved with Diurance river stones is very picturesque. The church tower is octogonal, which is typical for Avignon's medieval churches. The façade is later high gothic style with few early Renaissance design.

Located right in the center of town, a stone's throw from the Aubanel printing museum, the Place Saint Pierre, cobbled with shingle stones, is the church square for the parish church that bears the same name.

Saint-Pierre had been rebuilt in 1385, thanks to a donation from the Cardinal Pierre de Près. Unfortunately we cannot enter and admire the panelling, the altarpiece, the pulpit or the paintings, one of which is the "Adoration of the Shepherds" by Simon de Chalons. But its façade, in flamboyant Provençal Gothic, is the most embellished of all of Avignon's churches and its doors alone merit a look.

The Doors
In solid walnut, 4 metres high, they open into the only nave of the church. The pier that separates the two doors has a remarkable sculpted canopy under which stands a lovely virgin with child attributed to Jean Péru.

Michel Lopis, a rich merchant, paid for the doors of Saint-Pierre. Antoine Volard, "woodworker", a native of the Dauphiné, was hired to build them, for "60 gold crowns with the king's hallmark ".
Each leaf of the doors has two porticos, with figures in relief under an arch in three dimensions.
Oubliez les stress quotidiens pour faire le Trek Sapa 2 jours